Three Among Semifinalists For Gregg Olson Award

Three Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League players have been named semifinalists for the 2013 Gregg Olson Award. The award, presented by Toolshed Sports, is given to the “Breakout Player of the Year.” Northern Illinois University junior Eli Anderson (Adirondack 2013), East Tennessee State University senior Kerry Doane (Amsterdam 2012) and Kansas State University sophomore Austin Fisher (Glens Falls 2013) are among 46 semifinalists that have been announced. The full list of semifinalists can be found here.

The Gregg Olson Award is named after former Auburn University pitcher Gregg Olson who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All-American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and a Major League Baseball all-star.

Finalists for the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be announced on Monday, June 3. The winner will be revealed during the NCAA Division I College World Series in Omaha, Neb., which is scheduled to be held from June 15 through June 25/26.

Eli Anderson (Adirondack 2013) was a first team All-Mid-American Conference selection as a starting pitcher for the MAC West Division regular season champion Northern Illinois University Huskies. Anderson, a junior, accrued a 9.53 earned run average as a freshman and then logged a 6.79 ERA as a sophomore. This spring, Anderson led the Huskies in starts (15), wins (nine), complete games (six), innings pitched (115.1), earned run average (2.18), and strikeouts (76). The Glenview, Ill., native went 9-4 and set career highs in nearly every pitching category. Anderson finished the season tied for eighth nationally in complete games. Against MAC opponents, the junior was nearly unbeatable with an 8-1 conference record, 1.17 ERA, 54 strikeouts in 77.0 innings pitched and six complete games. Between March 23 and May 10, Anderson won eight-straight starts and threw five nine-inning complete games.

Kerry Doane (Amsterdam 2012), a senior starting pitcher at East Tennessee State University, was named the Pitcher of the Year by the Atlantic Sun Conference. The first team All-Atlantic Sun hurler was a utility player for the Bucs as a junior and fashioned out a 4.34 earned run average as a part-time starter. This spring, Doane paced the Bucs to the Atlantic Sun tournament championship. Heading into the NCAA tournament, he leads all NCAA Division I pitchers with 12 complete games and 140.0 innings pitched. The senior is tied for first nationally in shutouts (four) and tied for second in victories (13). Overall, Doane stands 13-1 with a 1.99 ERA over 19 appearances. He has struck out 74, walked 20 and held opponents to a .232 batting average. The Fort Lauderdale, Fla., native was the Most Valuable Player of the Atlantic Sun tournament. He fired a complete game four-hitter in the A-Sun championship game against Kennesaw State and finished the tournament with 18.0 innings pitched and a 1.50 earned run average. With a complete game effort in the A-Sun championship contest, Doane broke ETSU’s single-season record for complete games.

Austin Fisher (Glens Falls 2013) is the starting shortstop for the Big XII regular season champion Kansas State Wildcats. The sophomore was named first team All-Big XII after helping the Wildcats win their first regular season league championship since 1933. Fisher is in his first season as a starter after playing a back-up role during his freshman campaign. Heading into the NCAA tournament, Fisher is one of K-State’s top offensive weapons. He leads the Big XII regular season champions in doubles (18) and is tied for the team lead in batting average (.356). Fisher stands among K-State’s top five in hits (68), runs batted in (34), hit-by-pitch (10), on-base percentage (.429) and triples (three). Defensively, he is second among all fielders with 154 assists. Fisher is part of a K-State middle infield that includes 2012 PGCBL Player of the Year Ross Kivett (Glens Falls 2012). Fisher is also a semifinalist for the 2013 Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award. 

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
May 2021
June 2020
May 2020
March 2020
January 2020
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
March 2019
January 2019
October 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
November 2010