Sixteen former Perfect Game Collegiate Baseball League (PGCBL) standouts will continue their careers at the professional level after hearing their names called during the 2022 MLB First-Year Player Draft this week.

The annual draft, which featured 20 rounds for the second consecutive year, spanned three days from Sunday, July 17, through Tuesday, July 19.

The 16 PGCBL alumni who were chosen represented eight teams, led by the Albany Dutchmen and Amsterdam Mohawks with five selections apiece. Auburn, Elmira, Mohawk Valley, Watertown, Utica, and the former Adirondack franchise each saw one former player called up to the pros.

The first former PGCBL ballplayer drafted this summer was former Albany infielder Luke Gold (Boston College), who was taken by Detroit with the 147th overall pick in the fifth round. The second baseman from Boston College was one of four members of the 2019 Dutchmen team picked in this year’s draft, joining teammates Ben Metzinger (Louisville), Justin Bench (Ole Miss), and Luke Franzoni (Xavier).

Four players from the 2019 PGCBL finalists were called upon in the draft. From the championship-winning Amsterdam Mohawks were Tyler Stuart (Southern Miss), Dale Stanavich (Rutgers), and Michael Turconi (Wake Forest). From the league runner-up and West Division champions in Adirondack was outfielder Chris Rotondo (Villanova), who was picked up by St. Louis in the 19th round.

The Auburn Doubledays, who made their PGCBL debut last summer, witnessed their first collegiate draft pick in the eighth round. Matt Brosky (Youngstown State), who pitched in six games for the Doubledays in 2021, was selected by the Texas Rangers with the 229th overall pick.

Since the PGCBL began competition in the summer of 2011, over 300 alumni have been chosen in the annual MLB First-Year Player Draft.

Below is the complete list of PGCBL alumni who were taken in the 2022 MLB First-Year Player Draft:


Rnd Pick Name Organization College Team Year
5 147 Luke Gold Detroit Boston College Albany 2019
6 179 Tyler Stuart New York (NL) Southern Miss Amsterdam 2019
7 222 Ben Metzinger Milwaukee Louisville Albany 2019
8 229 Matt Brosky Texas Youngstown State Auburn 2021
8 232 Dale Stanavich Miami Rutgers Amsterdam 2019
10 289 Josh Hatcher Texas Kennesaw State Utica 2019
12 362 Jordan Dissin Philadelphia Saddleback College Watertown 2021
14 434 Roel Garcia Tampa Bay Rice Albany 2017
15 458 Michael Turconi Toronto Wake Forest Amsterdam 2019
16 470 Nick Cimillo Pittsburgh Rutgers Mohawk Valley 2019
17 507 Cole Patten Detroit Villanova Amsterdam 2021
17 509 Connor Brandon New York (NL) Toledo Amsterdam 2021
17 517 Brody Moore St. Louis Auburn Elmira 2019
17 526 Justin Bench San Francisco Ole Miss Albany 2019
19 568 Luke Franzoni Los Angeles (AL) Xavier Albany 2019
19 577 Chris Rotondo St. Louis Villanova Adirondack 2019